Skip to content
July 7, 2009 / Jeb

DIA Bearish Chart Pattern

DIA

DIA has turned down and broken the head and shoulders neckline which was 82.75.  Fears of an economic recovery are taking hold and deflationary forces are present.  Unemployment, the real estate recovery and risks in the financials are getting stronger.

This market correction could be strong and we can head into new lows.  Notice my post from June 10th which called the top on the dow.  Unfortunately this is hurting our precious metals investments.  Thank goodness we protected some of our investments with inverse etf’s and short positions in Goldman Sachs.

I am not selling any of our holdings yet as the commodities are oversold and I expect a bounce.  This correction in commodities has not seen major selling and we know we have support from overseas.  I am not ready to give back those positions yet.  Please stay tuned.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. hasbeard / Jul 7 2009 9:43 pm

    Hi,
    Do you see a bounce for tomorrow?

    • Anticipate Opportunities / Jul 7 2009 10:15 pm

      I do not day trade…it could move to the 10 day moving average before continuing down.

  2. Skater / Jul 8 2009 8:22 am

    I hear your long miners and short SM (like me) and wanted to know which miners and your outlook from here. Im long RBY/NG/NGD/GSS/EXK/SA/GG/ABX/SLW/SVM/AZK, particularly take a look at POU.TO, ORV, AZK, RBY and SVM, fyi. Later skater.

    • Anticipate Opportunities / Jul 8 2009 9:28 am

      I am long a few miners but I am not short SM. I am short GS. Thanks for your suggestions.

  3. Skater / Jul 8 2009 10:31 am

    How far is your time horizon on goldman?

    • Anticipate Opportunities / Jul 9 2009 9:21 am

      6 months

Leave a comment